The real meaning of fit in Grad School Application

finidinwa

I have been reading on this forum and others how grad school acceptance is based on fit, but i have not gotten a full understanding of what it mean to be a fit for a particular program. Let me use myself as an example I studied Biochemistry, and graduated with a good result albeit that i'm not the best graduating student-(CGPA 4.06 out of 5) dont know how this compare to US GPA, though based on percentage, i am 81% while the best student was 91% moreso i am 4th in my graduating class. I did a Honors thesis (my topic-Physicochemical and antioxidant properties of Moringa Oleifera husk and testa). My question- When grad school say fit, does it mean the school will have a prof doing research related to my thesis topic? Or does fit mean a school has a prof whose research i am enthusiastic about and would like to have a career in?

I think it means a lot of things that are hard to quantify, which is why people (including me) like to throw that word around a lot :)

It definitely means research fit. I would say it is more important to show that you have a strong interest in the research being done at the department you are applying to (i.e. the second thing you said). People don't necessarily do the same topic/field between undergrad thesis and PhD, and they don't have to do the same thing between PhD thesis and post-docs etc. either! 

However, it also means logistical fit. If you are interested in Profs X, Y, and Z, but all of them are not taking students or wanting to change their research focus etc. then it would hurt your application. This is why I emailed profs I'm interested in before applying and saying I'd like to work with X, Y, and Z. In a similar vein, it might mean financial fit -- you might be a great student, but there might have been a budget cutback and they can't accept students in your area of research, etc.