Univ. of Cambridge versus CUNY

heulwen

Hello guys

So... Here's the question. I'm an international student with an interest in labor history and gender in the Middle East. I've been admitted to the CUNY History PhD Program with 5 years of funding. I've accepted the offer with great joy because the department has some great Middle Eastern faculty and offers excellent courses. I was putting together documents to make my visa application but then all of a sudden I've received a notification from the University of Cambridge that I've been awarded with three years of scholarship by their Committee. (This was totally unexpected because previously I had been told that the deadline for funding was February)

I'm super confused now. I know that there are pros and cons of doctoral education in the British system. The most obvious advantage is, as far as I know, that the students are not expected to do any TA work so it's possible to spare more time for your own research. (the CUNY students are expected to GIVE COURSES starting form the second year). Another advantage in my case is that the Cambridge diploma is world wide prestigious and the University Library is beyond impressive. As a personal advantage, the UK is closer to my country which saves me lots of money to visit my family and friends whenever I want. The city is nice, people ride bikes to the campus, etc...

There are also some disadvantages compared to CUNY. The fact that no courses are offered in Cambridge's PhD program makes me concerned because I feel not exactly ready jumping into writing my dissertation yet. My potential supervisor at Cambridge (although a very sophisticated scholar) is not a Middle Eastern Historian. (In CUNY, I'll have this supervisor who has very similar research interests to mine). Lastly, the city is, well, can't possibly be compared to New York which I've always wanted to see..