Jobs for PhD dropout in chemistry?

tomyum

Hello all,

I was a PhD student in a highly ranked institution (top 5). Since i was in a such a prestigious program, it was very hard for me to quit despite hating every day of my life at grad school. But finally I have made my mind and want to take a masters and leave. The thing that discouraged me from getting a PhD in physical chemistry was that most people who were graduating from my lab and other labs at my school were doing post-docs after post-docs to support themselves or getting really shitty jobs in industry. It does not seem like getting a PhD will advance my career in any way. My friends who I did undergrad with are earning much more money and have better job options than those that are graduating with a PhD. 

Money is not super importnat to me, but after all that hard work and sacrifice, I feel that I deserve better. I did chemistry and math as an undergraduate. I regret that I did not continue with my math career and went into some job that paid better. Has anyone made a transition form a science career to business or consulting or any job that pays well? If so, can you please give me some tips.

• 1 month later...

I haven't done this. However, if your technical skills in the lab are good you can probably get a job just fine. You might actually have more options than someone with a PhD. You'll definitely have more options and better advancement than someone with a B.S. Most industry jobs say something along the lines of "MS with x years experience" "PhD with y years experience." You're going to have to look hard, but that's because the science job market sucks right now for everyone.

You just need to spin your leaving early in a positive way. "I was spending most of my time teaching and working on theoretical problems, rather than doing anything with practical applications" etc.