Need help with Ecology/Evolutionary Bio programs

Angulimala

Hello all,

I am new to the Biology section of the forum, I am a Ph.D. student in sociology.  But I am inquiring at the behest of my SO.  I was wondering what are some schools who are strong in ecology/evolutionary bio.  I would like to be knowledgeable of ones that lie outside the T20 in addition to the programs in the T20.  Also, how is the application process for biology.  I know in sociology we had to send in a writing sample of notable length and also write a statement of purpose along with our application.  Is there a comparative process for biology??? If so what artifacts do you have to send in that represent you as a focused student etc etc....

Thanks for the help in advance

There is generally no writing sample required for biology programs; writing samples are usually only asked for in the humanities or social sciences. For all of the programs that I applied to, I just needed a statement of purpose (in which I described my prior research experiences and plans for the future, including what I intended to work on and why I chose that school specifically). Some schools will also ask for shorter supplemental essays, but these are generally ~1 page in length and are aimed mostly at assessing whether or not you're a good fit for the program. Many programs also allow you to upload copies of any scientific publications you may have, as well as your CV, but in most cases these things are optional. Then of course there are the standard things-- LORs, GRE scores, transcripts, etc. Some programs may recommend the biology subject GRE, but I generally find that exam to be a worthless endeavor; I'd only recommend it if the school requires it (or "strongly recommends" it), or if your SO doesn't have a strong biology background.