Advices for starting research early? [Chemistry]

Cookie

I am offered to do an early-bird research program by my Chemistry Department this summer.  As an incoming PhD student in the Fall, I'm incredibly excited about getting my feet wet and settling in before school starts.  Some background info about me: I'm a theoretical/computational chemistry student that have done 2 years of computational research (molecular dynamics), but steering to a more theoretical approach (quantum theories -- electronic structure).  Very very different line of work, so even though the new research mesmerizes me, it also terrifies me.

I would love to have advices on how to make the most of this program? 

How did YOU start your journey as a baby scientist, learning an entirely new research area from scratch?

Did you start research early, how did you do it?

What would you have done differently?

Thanks so much in advance :)

I have no idea what an early bird program is, specifically, but I started early and really liked it. 

I started in July, which gave me time to wrap up stuff at my old place, and time to move. Getting my stipend over the summer was very nice, as it helped cover rent, etc. and gave me more time in the city to get used to it before school started. 

It also helped to have two months to read background on my new research area, figure out where everything was in the lab and department, and get all my safety trainings/instrument trainings in, so once the semester started I was completely ready to go. 

I completely switched (well, not completely, but almost completely) research areas- large scale wet synthesis (organic) to biological chemistry with more of a design/characterization focus. It was great to have a few months without course overlap to read background papers, read all my groups publications, and figure out what the hell I was supposed to be doing. 

Feel free to PM me if you want to talk in more detail, as well. 

Thanks Eigen!