Making a switch!

dynamicspartan

Hi!

New to the forum, but have absolutely loved poring over others' experiences and advice here. I am not sure if my situation is unique or not, but after sifting through threads, I thought I would ask for others' opinion on my specific situation.

I graduated with two bachelor's degrees in May '12 from Michigan State University. I graduated with a 3.86 cumulative GPA.

As more time has separated me from my undergrad, it has become more clear to me that my interest in history, writing, and research is more than that, and is something I want to pursue in my career. Specifically, I have become more and more interested in the American Civil War era and the history of the American Presidency.

My primary undergraduate degree of International Relations was earned from James Madison College at MSU, and is deeply rooted in the history of democracy, political theory, and international foreign policy. Thus, my degree program was not an explicit history program, but offered similar coursework and a rigorous research and writing environment. 

I guess my question is - how difficult would it be for me to make the switch into a Phd program for history? What suggestions do you have for me to use my undergrad and experience to gain admittance to top tier grad schools for history?

Edited by dynamicspartan

Not unusual at all.  Make sure that your writing sample shows original research and analysis, in historical framework if possible.  Make connections with your undergrad coursework with your desire to pursue history at a graduate level.  

While I would be cautious to say that Civil War is well researched, there are certainly some gaps.  Take some time to read up the historiography to help you make a strong case for wanting to study the Civil War period that won't make your readers sigh and roll their eyes.

It's not a bad idea ta all to apply to MA programs (with funding if possible) too if you're aiming to apply to PhD programs.