EPA STAR 2014?

iowaguy

OK, seeing as how the 2013 STAR applicants still haven't heard back, who is starting to prepare for 2014?  I'm an incoming PhD student, and my prof is expecting me to apply, but I'm really not sure if the EPA is going to have any funds available?  I was hoping to start work on my application this summer before classes start this fall...  Thoughts?

I think funding is likely to be at the least restricted based on the lack of updates to the website and the overall budget picture for EPA (most funds already commited), but I don't have any proof to back this up. I also noticed that the NASA GSRP ended this year, with no new grants allocated after 2013, but some other NASA fellowship programs appear to still be running.

Hi Usmivka,

I also saw that the NASA GSRP was ended. Do you know if any of the other NASA fellowships are appropriate for incoming earth sciences PhD students? Trying to find all appropriate fellowship opportunities given the budget cuts.

NASA NESSF or Jenkins fellowships are both good options. The NOAA Foster fellowship might also be a fit, depending on your research. But we still don't know how many NASA will give out next year, they may cut back significantly from the current hundred or so.

Edited by Usmivka

Thanks! I had seen the NASA NESSF grant before, but got somewhat mixed signals about whether it was for incoming students or only those already enrolled. It says that it may be for incoming students, but then goes on to require a faculty advisor sponsor in multiple places (which I may not yet have by the Feb 01 deadline, or at least not with enough time to put together a proposal). Do you have a sense of whether the NESSF is really for incoming students?

Thanks for the suggestions though, I appreciate it (Especially if the EPA STAR is cut in 2014).

Do you have a sense of whether the NESSF is really for incoming students?