Is 1.5 years of research experience enough? Or should I wait an extra year?

persimmony

First of all, I graduated in 2011 from a mid-sized public state school that not many people outside the state know about. Majored in Biology with minors in Chem and Physics. My overall GPA was 3.65 and major is 3.5.

I'm taking the GRE next week, but my last practice test score was 162V/167Q so I'm not too worried.

What I am worried about is my research experience. I have 1 semester from my senior year where I worked as an intern in an immunology lab. I was only there ~10hrs/week so I can't say I had a major impact on the research; mainly I did some cell culture and flow cytometry. No analysis of the data.

As of October 2012, I joined a stem cell lab where I am my PI's only technician. I've gotten a lot of valuable experience thus far, and work independently, though I don't create my own projects. By the time I apply, I'll have one or two papers in review in which I am a second author. 

With the economy as it is, I know that admittance has been tougher these past few years; that said, will I have a decent chance at acceptance? I want to apply for a PhD to biomedical sciences umbrella programs. I plan to apply to 5-7 schools of varied ranks. 

Edited by persimmony

Hi persimmony!