Working in a lab

dirkduck

Hey everyone. This doesn't really have to do with any program in particular, but I figure this is the best forum to ask in. I'm looking towards accepting an offer in psychology (experimental, not clinical) for a Ph.D. program. In undergrad I majored in psychology and sociology, but most of my research was done in sociology. As such, my research experience is primarily qualitative and not "in the lab" experimental. I'm really thrilled about the offer, but I am worried about not having a background in psychology lab research. Does anyone have any suggestions as to how to best prepare myself in order to not look clueless come August? I am not oblivious to experimental methods, and have been on the participant side of a lot of psych. research, but have not had the opportunity to conduct any myself. I guess my fear is that on day one, getting into the program, and having my adviser bring me to the lab and say "get to work" (exaggerated, but that idea). Any tips? Thanks a lot.

EDIT: I should add, I have thought about getting involved in a lab in summer for a few months, but so far the opportunities have been bleak. So this is assuming I am unable to get any lab positions before August.

I guess my fear is that on day one, getting into the program, and having my adviser bring me to the lab and say "get to work" (exaggerated, but that idea).

I think programs (and PI's) might differ somewhat in this respect, but in general this isn't going to happen. You'll have some first year core courses in methods, stats, and other requirements. During that time, you'll be in your lab doing something, but I think most people start out pretty slow, especially since you might have to TA that first year in addition to take a bunch of classes. Most likely you and your PI will get together and talk about some projects you might want to do, then get a pilot study set up. That will be a great time for you to learn.