Getting into MIT

It's been my dream to get into MIT since I was around 7. I'm currently a third year student in UM Amherst (please never say UMass to me, I just hate that name) which is probably one of the best schools to be in for linguistics. I'm majoring in philosophy and minoring in linguistics, and I was wondering what I could do to get into my dream school for my last 2 years?

I'm not too worried about my GPA. I should have a GPA of around 3.9 for all my courses and my major by the time I graduate, and I think that's good enough. My main interest is logic. I've taken 4 logic courses in my first two years: two graduate level and two undergraduate level. By the time I graduate, I should have around 8 graduate level philosophy courses under my belt (4 logic courses and 4 in metaphysics, such as in philosophy of mind and language). I should be able to take around 6 graduate level linguistics courses by the time I graduate, as well.

I think my recommendation letters will be a plus over others. I can get some from my major if need be, but I should be able to get two from my linguistics department: one from a professor who is a graduate of MIT and another from a professor who was the doctoral advisor of MIT professors.

There are a few things, however, that I am worried about. The first is not having any research experience at all. The only areas that I'm taking courses in--syntax, logic and semantics--are theoretical, and there's not much I can do in the way of research. I've done a lot of tutoring (3 semesters worth) so I have experience with tutoring others. Would that make up for it or should I look for a research assistantship?

Another is my writing sample. I'm going to be doing an honors thesis before applying, which will be reviewed twice by a committee, and that will be really helpful. But I'm worried that it won't be as good as other people's writing samples since I hardly have any experience in terms of writing in linguistics compared to them.