Not sure if I'm PhD/DBA Material...

maria26

Hi all, 

I'm new to the site & can I just say that I'm so glad it exists! I'm reading a lot of the Business PhD posts because I've been considering it for a while now.  Unfortunately, I'm not very confident and feel like I'm holding myself back. This is sort of new to me so I'd appreciate it if anyone could give their two cents on my situation!

A bit of background: I got my undergrad in Communications and International Studies (double majored) with a minor in Chinese Studies from a small, liberal arts college. I graduated with an okay GPA above a 3.0, but not necessarily cum laude. I worked for a few months & then started grad school in Spring 2012. I decided to pursue a dual degree - MBA & M.A in Journalism/Mass Communications. This program was a PERFECT fit because it was basically the grad-school version of my undergrad double major and combined two of my passions. My concentration is Marketing/PR and I love it. Through this, I've discovered my interest in marketing analytics/research/big data---the whole shabang.

The only downside is that the university is not well-known at all, & isn't in the "top business schools" or even "top schools" ranking. At the same time, it's only 1 of 6 schools in the nation to offer the MBA/MA combination (and the only school to offer the Marketing/PR concentration). 

I worked in the corporate sector for about a year (while I was taking classes) and now I'm a marketing intern at a couple of non-profits. I'm going to finish my program this December and I'm thinking about applying to PhD programs OR DBA programs. I haven't really narrowed it down yet, but I know I'm interested in Marketing Analytics/Research or Organizational Behavior. I don't necessarily want to teach, but I want to research, and I would like to go on to school.