biostat phd eval

Hi all,
I'm an undergraduate student right now and I'd really appreciate if anyone could provide ideas on some biostat phd programs that would be good for me.

Undergraduate School: University of Washington
Major: Mathematics and Statistics
GPA: 3.79 overall; 3.94 for math and 3.83 for stat
GRE: 168 Quant, 150 Verbal (this is my main concern)
Recommendation letters: 1 from a math professor, 1 from a stat professor, 1 from a biostat professor
Research: currently working on a project with a professor from biostat department

Thanks a lot!
  • rep_up.png
  •  
  • rep_down.png
  •  

Your verbal score shouldn't hold you back from anything. Are you planning on taking the math subject GRE also?

Thanks!

Actually, I don't think I'll have time to prepare the subject GRE, perhaps I should take the general test again.

Yeah, the verbal GRE score really isn't a big deal. If you're a U.S. citizen, you'll be competitive for PhD admission at every program in the country. If not, Harvard/Hopkins could be tough to crack but I'm guessing you're still pretty much a lock at UW and are in a very good position for everywhere else.

Yeah, the verbal GRE score really isn't a big deal. If you're a U.S. citizen, you'll be competitive for PhD admission at every program in the country. If not, Harvard/Hopkins could be tough to crack but I'm guessing you're still pretty much a lock at UW and are in a very good position for everywhere else.

I think the OP is in good shape too but not quite this good. Are you basing this on having a Math & Stats degree from UW? GPA of 3.79 is good but not great, so I wonder if the poster might blend in among the other apps. Then again the research project in biostats is a great way to get noticed.