Math requirements in American politics

I graduated from a top liberal arts college with a double-major in economics and political science.  Upon graduation, I went to work for an economic consulting firm, deciding that I wanted to move away from the private sector and submitted applications to study economics in graduate school.  I achieved admission to a top program on the strength of my recommendations and grades.  However, upon arriving at school, I was shocked by the level of mathematical training and ability that is required in graduate level economics (the burden of which grows heavier every year, I understand), and that despite my excellent performance in the undergraduate-level courses and on the GRE (I graduated in the top 2% of my class, and scored 800 on the math section and 700 on the verbal), there was no way that I was going to get through what actually felt like a Ph.D. in physics or mathematics, especially without an undergraduate major in math and perhaps a couple of graduate courses as well (and frankly, I have to admit that I am not exceptional at writing mathematical proofs nor do I enjoy it particularly much, a disposition that I discovered the hard way is fundamentally incompatible with graduate school in economics).  Confident that I was going to fail out, I voluntarily withdrew during the first semester.