The University of Texas at Dallas

Cog-Neuro Guy

The career prospects vary. It's a subfield of experimental psychology as your probably know already. UTD states that it is a great program to leverage people into doctoral programs in neuroscience, behavioral neuroscience, cognitive science and experimental psychology. Also, you can become an IONM technologist with this M.S. (I was hesitant about doing that because the field is still underdeveloped and unregulated)...it seems like the only jobs to be had are from 3rd party medical staffing firms. Hospitals and clinics usually outsource for IONM through a staffing firm. They do have a good salary ($65-80K) if you get CNIM certification. 

Other than that, my main goal with this program is to get a strong cognitive-neuroscience and experimental psychology background to apply to clinical and counseling psychology doctoral programs. I am a graduate research assistant for the chief of neuropsychology and psychology at UT Southwestern, so, I am pairing relevant research opportunities with my degree to tailor it to my needs and applications. I also plan on teaching at a college, I used to teach high school and middle school instrumental studies, so I like the teaching aspect. 

I see you are doing school psychology (TWU?) 

Edited by Cog-Neuro Guy

• 5 months later...

Hey Cog-Neuro Guy,

I am actually from Dallas and am applying to the exact program you are in. In fact, it is my number one choice at this moment. I have a few questions if you do not mind answering.

1. What is the program like itself? (culture, classes, cohorts)

2. Are the professors easy to approach/talk to?

3. How do you go about joining a research lab? Is it as easy as simply speaking with a professor? Are rotations required?

4. Are there plenty of options for research collaborations?

And the most subjective question of all: Did you enjoy the classes i.e., were they interesting, can you say you learned alot etc.?