From Biology to Clinical Psychology - Is it possible?

karaboga

Hello guys,

I have a bachelor degree in Biology and I am now in the final year of my Msc again in Biology graduate school where I work especially on Microbiology and Genetics stuff. However, I have a strong interest in psychology and I would like to continue my career as a psychologist actually and I want to apply for a PhD for Clinical Psychology.

Given my lack of experience and information, can you give me some advice on where to start? And I am wondering if psychological science grad schools are open to students from other disciplines like Biology? Any information is appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Enes

If you have absolutely no or very few courses in psychology, there is a great chance you will have to do a post-bacc or complete a masters in psychology (I was told a generic masters in psychology is useful in these situations). If a program is lenient enough, they may accept a really good score on the Psych GRE. Most programs expect you to come in with a general knowledge of psychology with the understanding that graduate school is where you will define your more specific interests and learn new skills to apply that knowledge. Many programs even lay out which courses they expect you to have coming in so you may want to look for that section when researching different programs.

^What sdt13 said. You still need basic courses.

However, they are generally very open to people of different majors- assuming you have completed core courses. Also, it may work to your advantage, especially if you want to apply to a health clinical or a medical and clinical psychology program.

clincal psych is going to be more strict on coursework than most experimental programs, it would be best to take a few courses if possible.