How many ta-ships are we granted?

miss sisyphus

Hi everyone. I'm in my second year of an MFA program. I'm fortunate that I've been given a TA-ship every semester that pays for most of my tuition.  However, there are a couple of other students in my cohort who have been given at least two TA-ships  per semester (one of them currently has three!). I've asked how to go about getting another one and was told by two people (including the student who  has three) that there just aren't any. I should add that I've received complimentary emails from my students regarding my teaching. One of them said I changed her mind and that of some others about the program. I forwarded the email to my advisor, who told me to share it with the head of the department. So, those in charge  know I'm doing a good job. What's up? Did these other students cut some kind of deal? I suppose I could ask them, but I don't know how to approach the subject without sounding resentful. Which, frankly, I am.  I'm not happy with my program any more for reasons which I'll be posting on another board. (Fair warning!)  Any insight/advice? Thanks!

Sounds like these other students are doing a better job at one or more of teaching, taking initiative, knowing the right people, or being there at the right time. All you can do is do more of those things and actively seek out these other opportunities. I don't think you have a reason to be resentful, you just need to do a better job taking care of your needs, since no one else is going to do that for you. If you just sit there and hope that your good work will be noticed and rewarded without needing to actively advocate for yourself, you may be disappointed.