Thesis on The Wire....Advice

urbanac

Hi all,

I majored in poli sci/english and have worked in education for about 4 years. I want to get serious about applying to grad school next year (apply next year, admit 2015). I'm most likely going to be applying to a bunch of political science MA and/or PhD programs in poli sci-specifically interested in political theory (how much of a cliche am I ?!) 

In my senior year of undergrad, I received a fellowship for legal theory (what I really want to study) under which I produced a thesis paper. It was a 50 page paper that essentially took the work of a legal theorist named Robert Cover and applied it to The Wire (yes, the TV show) to examine institutions of authority/power and morality. 

Assuming it's a well written paper (grammar, clarity of ideas), what are your thoughts around submitting this paper for top tier political science programs. My big concern is that there's a lack of quantitative analysis/ research and grad programs will think it's fluffy/not important. Thoughts? 

It's difficult to know what to advise without reviewing the paper, but I would encourage you not to dismiss the paper outright. Graduate students in Political Science typically come from a number of fields, presumably because the discipline encourages outside perspectives (at least, let's hope!). In other words, I would encourage you to play up your fellowship and indicate how it and other opportunities gave you a unique perspective on the field. Quantitative analysis and research can be taught at the graduate level, so I wouldn't worry too much there.

Good luck to you!!

Thank you..."how it and other opportunities gave you a unique perspective"-- that helps a lot. 

Does anyone else have any experience with this kind of thing or are there any other materials about what's considered too fluffy for a writing sample?