The importance of where you did your previous studies when applying to PhD schools?

HYHY02

I'm about to begin my masters this fall, but this question has been bothering me so I thought I'd go ahead and ask...

anyways, I'm doing my Masters in an average Canadian school, the same school where I did my undergraduate. If I do go down the PhD route (which is what I'm intending), I also want to apply to some top schools in the States. Anyways, I wanted to ask just how important/what factor does where you went to school for your undergraduate/masters play when applying to some of the top schools in America? In Canada, I know people that have gone from little schools to the top tier ones and vice versa as they moved from one degree to the next. However, I don't know what factor it would play in my application in the States. Not only am I in an average school, it's an average international school, which I would assume puts me at a disadvantage when competing with other international students from top schools from their respective country, with all of us competing for the PhD position. It's bothering me that I feel doomed in regards to applying to PhD schools in the States before I've even begun my masters (even though I probably wouldn't get into any of the top schools I was potentially looking at, I thought I'd ask anyways about how big of a factor your previous school's reputation is...).

Edited by HYHY02

The success of your application depends on, well, your application. Coming from a top tier university helps an applicant if one of their recommenders knows the applicant well, can write a strong letter, and is well known in the program of study. It won't hurt your application to come from a lesser-known school, but you may have to put in the extra effort to show that you took advantage of research opportunities and to obtain strong, positive letters of recommendation.