Stats MS for the more 'mature' student

Hi all, just a quick question regarding status of older students - I am/ will be one when/if I get into an MS program.

I'm female, and will be closer to 40 than 30 when I apply. My main concern is what my employment chances will be like after graduation. I know that this field tends to be populated by those in their 20's and I'm concerned that I may face discrimination, either by being rejected from potential MS programs, or more importantly, rejected by employers because of my age.

Does anyone here have any experience/evidence to the contrary? I am a good candidate with a current 4.0 GPA in all U.S. courses I've taken (both grad and undergrad). I'm a perm resident, and got undergrad and grad degrees in the U.K - but those were in social sciences. I have no experience in the field, and have basically been a stay at home mom for the past few years while studying part-time.

I'm taking calculus right now, will be taking linear alg, real analysis, programming in c++ differential equations, probability theory, regression analysis etc.

Am I disillusioned that I might be able to make a career out of stats??

Any info much appreciated.

It's illegal for universities to consider applicant age as a factor in making admissions decisions, and institutions generally take this pretty seriously, so I wouldn't worry too much about your age preventing you from getting into a program.

And while it would be hard to prove age discrimination if a company (say) chose not to interview, I think that your age is relatively unlikely to play heavily into your job prospects. It's not like you're approaching retirement age, and few companies view MS-level stat analyst positions as "jobs for life" anyhow. You might even bring skills to the table (writing/communication ability, interpersonal skills, etc.) which are in short supply among younger graduates.