MSW Decisions, Decisions, Decisions.

jap82951

I am currently a student at California State University, Northridge (CSUN). I am a Social Welfare major and Queer Studies minor. I have volunteered at a domestic violence shelter (completed my 40 hour training on domestic violence) and I am currently interning at a mentally ill/drug addict homeless shelter. I am clueless about grad school. USC has always been my dream school but is the price really worth it? UCLA's MSW program is pretty great too, from what I've heard. For some reason I do not wish to attend a Cal State. I want to go to a bigger university for my masters. 

I have to tell you that the place you chose for an MSW matters. I am going to a expensive school for my masters...UPenn. I think it is the best place for an MSW because of the professors, numerous field options and connections that Penn has. Go for your dream school. I have confidence that the excitement and opportunities that you dream school gives you will be worth it!! 

Social work is not my field, but the practical side of social work doesn't seem to be too prestige-focused.  But UCLA is a top 25 school of social work - not that far below USC - and is likely to be much more affordable for you.  UC-Berkeley is actually ranked higher than USC.

Also, I know you said you don't want to go to a CSU for your degree.  But there are several CSUs in the top 100 MSW programs - San Diego State, CSU-Long Beach, CSULA, San Francisco State, San Jose State, and CSU-Sacramento.

Social workers don't earn that much money, so you don't want to be in hundreds of thousands of dollars of debt you can't repay.  I seriously disagree that "excitement" is worth crushing debt.  Opportunities are only worth it if they lead to better or higher-paying employment.

• 2 weeks later...