Qualifying Exams: study strategies etc

Thought I'd see if anyone else who is doing (or has done) exams would care to pool tips and strategies for their successful completion.

I'm currently studying for my central exam, and passed an exam in my minor field earlier this year. This one seems so much more intimidating, in part because I feel like I have to master it all (my list gets bigger every day, despite pruning)...I mean, I'm hopefully going to be making my career in this field. Argh, gots to know it alllllll!

So, yeah. 

How is everyone else finding exams?

I think your strategy has to be tailored towards your exam itself - i.e., is it written or oral, is it 4 hours or 2 days, how long is your list, and when's the date?