What are my chances?

CaptainWolf

Hi, I'm a student at FSU applying for Clinical and I/O phd programs this fall

Just took my GRE today and was devastated (305 combined/151V/154Q)

Cum GPA 3.5

Major GPA 3.9

Last 2 years 3.87

Currently in a lab, will enroll in two more next semester so 3 semesters worth of research experience

Getting LOR's from Current lab instructor (prominent social psychologist), Cognitive psych instructor, and neuro science instructor (both PhD holders)

I'm also not a native english speaker, but I am a US citizen.

I'm applying to 

UCF I/O deadline Masters or PHD

scheduled for December 15, 2013

USF I/O or Clinical (not sure which) deadline PHD

scheduled for January 1, 2014

U of Georgia Clinical Phd

scheduled for December 1, 2013

UF Clinical Deadline PhD

Georgia Tech I/O deadline

scheduled for December 15, 2013

FSU Clinical

scheduled for December 2, 2013

Emory Clinical deadline

What are my chances?

I could really use some hard advice or morale boosters... 

Hi CaptainWolf.  I'll give you my two cents, but I'm a fellow applicant so really I only know what I've been told or what I've read.

Clinical and I/O are so different and have such different career trajectories.  I'm curious how you came to the conclusion to apply to both.  Would you really be equally happy with a career in I/O or a career in clinical?

Have you done any independent research, poster presentations, an Honors thesis; will you be co-author on any research papers coming out of your lab experiences?  To be very competitive you should have some substantive experience showing you have some research skills and know quite a bit about how to conduct and present research.  What have you done in the research lab?

Your stats are good, but "good" when applying to PhD programs means around "average."  That's not a bad thing, but it means you'll have lots of competition. :mellow: