Ed.D. vs PhD?

dcdaria

Hi all,

New here! I assumed this topic would've been well-tread, but I couldn't seem to find much with my search, so hopefully this will be useful for the next person too.

I've been struggling for a while now with whether to go for an Ed.D. or a PhD. I have 10 years of experience in higher ed (records and registration), but I'd like to be more involved eventually at the curricular level (e.g., program director or assistant provost). I'm happy to do research, but it's just not my ultimate goal. However, the PhD seems appealing over the Ed.D. for a few reasons - primarily that tuition would be covered and it seems like it'd be a better credential to go the academic administrator route.

I guess my primary questions are:

1) I know I have a *chance* with an Ed.D., but will job hunting on the academic side be a big struggle without a PhD?

2) Would an Ed.D. from a top school and/or my experience be enough to overcome that or is the credential just going to be viewed as inferior no matter what? and

3) would schools frown upon me applying to both programs?

Stats for reference:

V 168, Q 157, AW 4.5

UGPA 3.25, Grad GPA 3.89 (MS in Higher Ed)

Thanks for your help all! I hope I can reciprocate in the rest of the forum about Master's degrees and working in higher ed!

*edited for clarity

Edited by dcdaria

There are a bunch of these discussions on the Chronicle forum.  Generally, consensus seems to be that an EdD is not as valued as much as the PhD.  Not sure if this sentiment changes depending on the education subfield, but I would say that this is generally true in the field of higher ed.