Should I Avoid T-20 PhD Schools Because UnderGrad GPA?

Yaya IR PhD

Hi all! Thanks in advance for reading and responding.

I graduated in 2010 from a T-20 LA school in the northeast with an International Studies degree. My GPA - 2.8 - i.e., total and utter garbage. I did write a 60pg thesis to graduate which received an A-.

The reason for the bad grades, I started my own company in healthcare databasing and got an excellent job in big pharma. 

Two years later I shifted my focus, went to get my M.A. in Government at a very reputable school in Israel (because my interest was in conflict) and will graduate with the highest GPA possible and recommendations that are insanely strong from impressive professors. I have a blog affiliated with two world-class research institutions. I was also hired as a research assistant for one of these institutions. GRE scores will be 85%+ on both. SoP has been reviewed by many academics and was well received by all. I am presenting on a panel at a very prestigious conference in a month (before apps are due). I am also co-authoring an article with a renowned professor but it won't be submitted by the time of most of my applications (she is writing one of my recommendations). 

I'm thinking of applying to Princeton, Cornell, and Northwestern (I figured Harvard and Yale would be too far out).

I have a few "more reasonable" schools I am applying to as well, but these programs are small. And I've seen that sometimes they only accept 2-4 people - i.e., Brandeis. 

Thoughts on my chances? Advice is much appreciated.

"Should I Avoid T-20 PhD Schools Because UnderGrad GPA?"

Absolutely not. If the rest of the application - especially the MA GPA - is as good as you say, you should be competitive anywhere.

I'm thinking of applying to Princeton, Cornell, and Northwestern (I figured Harvard and Yale would be too far out).