my research idea has been done-fear I will be asked to leave with mphil

poetry

So Im in 2nd year of a 4 year PHD, I changed to new topic end of last february and pretty much scrambled it together very quickly for funding application. Anwho I have just this week come accross research that has done alot of what I had planned to do, but just interpreted in a different theoretical framework ( with little proof of that explanation either) 

I have a novel and more explanatory account of the relationships involved, which i plan on testing. But now I fear this isn't enough to base my whole Phd on. I'm totally freaked, just emailed my supervisor and asked him his opinion.

I worked hard last year, but had some issues over the summer (nowhere to live, no aircon in study space in uni, personal issues, problems getting data- basically didn't do as much as I should have.

since term started I have been working hard, I have a lot of classes to take (3) and teach on 2. for example next week classes, teaching and lab group takes up 16 hours spread over week and thats just 'show up' time, doesn't include work put in for those classes and teaching. my supervisor told me i should be doing 40 hours research on top of that. so maybe I should. I struggled with changing sleep schedule and adjusting to work load, so I suppose research suffered a bit, and I feel my supervisor is now unhappy with me ( he was fine last year) but he said things that lead me believe he is presently unhappy with me.

so the two things combined I fear I am going to be asked to leave with Mphil.

any opinions on this appreciated, going crazy with worry over here.

Relax, calm down, take a day off and get your thoughts together.