Abandoning law school for academia?

coolranchtaco

So! I'm having a bit of a crisis regarding my future. Just finished undergrad a couple of months ago with a BA in Philosophy. My plan, since my very first semester, was to attend law school. I've fallen in and out of love with the idea over the years, but its always been my most appealing option. Until now! I'm seriously considering either going back for a second BA or MA then PhD.

In what? Good question! Though I majored in Philosophy I wouldn't want to pursue a graduate degree in the field. This may sound strange, but I'm absolutely infatuated with Occult history (Cultural Geography of Vodou, for example), Philosophy (i.e. Comparative Ethics of Wicca and Christianity, though thats a pretty obvious and heavy-handed example), etc. Re-telling the immigrant experience through the eyes of those that practice some form of what one might consider Witchcraft sounds like great fun, too.

Anyway, for academia to even be a legitimate option I'd have to know exactly what kind of degree I should be considering. Does this sound like Cultural Geography? Anthropology? History? Religious Studies? Occult Studies doesn't sound like a degree in its own right, and if it was I'd worry for my job prospects (which is saying something considering the current market for Humanities PhDs!)

Or maybe I'm just freaking out because the LSAT is driving me insane? Please help!

I have never studied any of the above interests (I'm in religious studies), but from what I understand there wouldn't be a lot of opportunities in that field after getting a PhD. Getting the PhD, of course, is another story altogether. I also wonder where you would study such things (I believe there is a lady at UChicago that does something along those lines...?).