Request for Advice, Stats

Apill

Hi everyone, I'm new to applying to History (PhD). I have pretty good statistics but I am a bit nervous about the fact that I'm switching to History from Political Science. I majored in IR and Polisci in Undergrad with a good GPA (3.8+) with a minor in History but I didn't produce any major paper through that minor. My interests were always historical, in that both my undergraduate theses were on history related topics: IR Thesis a historical case study on the Sino-Indian War of 1962 and my Polisci Thesis on Historicism, Hegel, and Spengler. So given all that and my disinterest in Political Science as a discipline, especially quantitative work, I've decided to apply to a PhD in History, with a focus on early modern South Asian history. Since most of my work previously was on South Asian security and IR and often used case studies, I chose this. My verbal GRE was 170 and I have some command of Hindi, Urdu, French and Persian ranging from good (Hindi) to beginner (Persian). I have one Political Science publication, my thesis.

My main question then is, how likely is my admittance into a history program and how are departments going to view my profile, especially in regards to switching fields? Thanks.

You'll have to make the case in your SoP and show you know how to think like a historian but other than that I think you should be in good shape. People switching into history from other fields isn't all that uncommon. I assume since you have a minor in history you can get at least one letter writer who is a historian?