professor being a jerk about illness

PlantinMoretus

So, 4 days before a major assignment was due, I came down with the flu.  I did what I could but I could not complete the assignment on time.  Per the rules, I obtained a medical certificate.  But per the rules, it's the professor's call whether to give me an extension, and he's pushing back.  Grrrr!

So far I have an A in his class, I'm a mature student with a full-time professional job (I took two sick days off work as well), does he REALLY think I'm just slacking?  

Now I'm just waiting to hear back from him, I've got a splitting headache, and I'm angry.  Not giving me an extension won't make me work any faster because it won't make me healthier.  It is what it is.

:angry: 

I'm sorry to hear about the crappy situation! That sucks :(

If you are looking for suggestions (ignore this if you aren't!), I would hand in whatever was completed by the deadline (if it hasn't already passed) and then also hand in the fully completed assignment at whatever date you think the extension should have been granted to. Since you took 2 sick days off work, I would say that a 2 day extension is probably the right amount (unless there is a different extension policy in place). Get this fully completed copy date stamped. For example, you could email it, or hand in a hard copy to the department office and ask the secretary to date stamp it and put it in your prof's mailbox. Maybe take a picture too, to prove this happened.