Translating Unorthodox Grading Systems

IvanBezdomnii

Hey all,

I'm currently a MA student at UNC Chapel Hill. I will be applying for a PhD during the next cycle.

Oddly, all graduate programs at UNC use an unorthodox grading system. We use the grades H (High Pass), P (Pass), L (Low Pass), and F (obviously Fail) without + and - modifiers. Also, there is no GPA. I think many schools use a similar system for concentrations in chemistry, physics, and other hard sciences. However, in the humanities, where I fall, this seems to be highly unusual. Another complicating factor is that the professors themselves seem to have no idea what they mean. To some professors HPL simply equals ABC, and others only give Hs.

Has anyone experienced a similar situation? Does anyone have any knowledge about how this system might be interpreted by other schools? Or if I should include an explanation somewhere on my application?

Another personal frustration with these grades is that on a traditional A-F scale I would have earned all As/A+s and consequently I have been lumped under the same grade with people who would've earned low A-s on that scale. Oh well, this weirdness aside UNC is honestly a great school and my comments shouldn't discourage anyone from applying or enrolling.

"The graduate grading scale in use at UNC-Chapel Hill is unique in that it cannot be converted to the more traditional ABC grading scale. Graduate students do not carry a numerical GPA."

Well, that's not helpful. I think you're best bet is to have an LOR explain the grading system as best as possible (highlighting your Hs).