How long did you study for the GRE?

med latte

How long did you study for the GRE?  

72 members have voted

1. 1. How long did you study for the GRE?

• less than one month
    • 2 or 3 months
    • 4 or 5 months
    • 6 to 12 months
    • more than 1 year

You might want to consider asking in hours instead of months to get a better idea of how long everyone studied. For example, I studied "2 months," but in reality I studied maybe 2 days a week for 30 minutes to an hour on the days that I studied. Someone else could have studied for less than one month, but still have spent more time on it than I did.

You might want to consider asking in hours instead of months to get a better idea of how long everyone studied. For example, I studied "2 months," but in reality I studied maybe 2 days a week for 30 minutes to an hour on the days that I studied. Someone else could have studied for less than one month, but still have spent more time on it than I did.

Yes, I thought about that - but I'm really more interested in how long (in months) that people adhered to the emotional and intellectual commitment to studying for the GRE, ie being in official "GRE preparation mode" regardless of total hours.  

How do you feel about your decision to not study?  Did you not believe it would help?  Or were you too pressed for time?

I am very happy with my decision not to study. My quantitiative score would have been a lot higher if I'd reviewed some basic math - my biggest problem was I wasted time having to figure things out that memorization would have helped - but I just couldn't justify hours and hours of study for a test designed to profit a company, when I could be using that time on my day job, my friends, and other experieinces that, in the end, boosted my resume enough that I got into my top choice grad school despite my poor quantitiative score.