Deciding between teaching and grad school?

Hey guys! I've been lurking all application season but this is my first post!

I'm currently a senior undergrad English - Secondary Education person... so instead of taking classes this year, I've been student teaching. I'm teaching full time this semester in a 10th grade class. It's rough at times, but I know I'm good at it and I also know I'm not in the greatest placement (apathetic mentor, terrible discipline policies, etc).

I have gone back and forth about whether I should go to grad school or get a teaching job. I'm afraid that if I don't go to school now, I never will, and I love academia. At the same time, I have a fellowship that allowed me to take zero student loans but will convert to one if I never teach in public school. So I know teaching is a good idea financially. I also enjoy teaching - I love it on the average to amazing days, but I hate it on the bad ones (perhaps because of my placement? The kids run the school).

I applied to PhD programs and didn't get in anywhere, but I got into University of South Carolina's MA program with a half-tuition waiver and a $8,000ish stipend for 10 hours a week of work (it jumps to ~$12,000 stipend second year in exchange for teaching).

I'm also waiting on a couple other MAs - one I felt meh about and the other I loved but am worried about funding options.

I also have a teaching job interview tomorrow, and if offered a job, I know I will only have a couple of DAYS (max) to decide to accept or not. Job opportunities in teaching (at least in SC) come and go extremely quickly, and there are lots of English people willing to take a job I decline.

Has anyone else been in this situation? Or is in something similar now? I know I have time to decide on USC, but teaching jobs in the school districts I like are not the easiest to get right now, and very competitive. I'm afraid to decline a teaching job and wish I hadn't later.

Edited by moorea12