Guidance for an unconventional phd hopeful

Amcam

I would like some information/advice for entering an art history phd.

I have a bachelors from a fashion college in NYC. I did well in school and graduated with a degree in fashion merchandising. After two years of working in the field in bridal. I've decided to change careers.

I'm very interested in furthering my education. If anyone can give me advice what is required for entering an art history phd. I am looking into taking a few classes at a university near by in art history. Are there other classes I should include? A few people have mentioned chemistry. I want to be looked at as a serious student and I'm willing to devout the next two years to do whatever it takes. Unfortunately, I do not know anyone that has done a phd.

I would like some information/advice for entering an art history phd.

I have a bachelors from a fashion college in NYC. I did well in school and graduated with a degree in fashion merchandising. After two years of working in the field in bridal. I've decided to change careers.

I'm very interested in furthering my education. If anyone can give me advice what is required for entering an art history phd. I am looking into taking a few classes at a university near by in art history. Are there other classes I should include? A few people have mentioned chemistry. I want to be looked at as a serious student and I'm willing to devout the next two years to do whatever it takes. Unfortunately, I do not know anyone that has done a phd.

I'm not sure why chemistry would be necessary unless you are hoping to do conservation work? If you are you would probably be looking at chemistry/material sciences and fine arts in addition to art history. 

Are you interested in the art history of fine arts? Or would costuming history be equally acceptable? There's an MA in Costume Studies http://steinhardt.nyu.edu/art/costume/ which can be combined with a MLS. I thought that looked amazing!