Length of PhD in Psychology

suggestmeaname

1. For those who are currently enrolled and/or finished with their PhD program in Psychology in the US

How long did it take you? How long do you think it will take?

2. What would you do if you were me? I already gotten a master's degree in psychology (major in personality and social). Now I am planning to go abroad to get my PhD (particularly in the US). But most PhD programs in the US requires an additional master's thesis even if I have one, which takes 5-6 years to finish. And I think thats too long to finish, and somehow waste of time...(I already have my master's). But I found some schools in the UK or Australia which have a PhD program in 3 years length.So I am thinking from the two kinds of programs. Personally I prefer going to the US because it was my dream since I was a fresh undergraduate, also my friends attend school there, and my parents also prefer me going to the US if ever I have my goals set to get a PhD abroad. Nevertheless, I have no discrimination against other schools around the world, it is just that my parent's preference is getting into my nerves, its making me hesitant to apply to degrees elsewhere.

my priorities in looking at the program:

a. the program itself ofcourse (research fit)

b. length of program (preferrably 3 years)

c. big opportunities for scholarships and TA/RA

but the biggest would be the length of time. Are there any schools in the US that offers a PhD program in psychology without requirements for masters and straight PhD?

Are there any advices for me out there? Please help gradcafe seniors! I need your wisdom

Thank youuuuuuu t.t

1. For those who are currently enrolled and/or finished with their PhD program in Psychology in the US

How long did it take you? How long do you think it will take?