Should I try again? If so how?

pjoseg

I have been applying to physics grad schools for the past two years, received 0 offers. I'm not sure how or whether I can further improve my profile or if I should try again. 

Here is a brief summary: I graduated from a top undergrad program, with 3.7< dpt gpa<3.8. My intended concentration was theoretical cosmology but now I'm open to anything physics related. I took some of the most advanced classes among my cohorts as I started graduate level classes sophomore year (which is probably why my gpa is not >3.9). I have been doing research every summer since before college. I have two publications, one in prd and another in apj. I have perfect gre scores and excellent recommendations. examples of awards include departmental awards every year from my university, US physics olympiad gold medal etc.  I am an international male. 

I applied to 15 of the top programs (ranked 30th and above) twice in the past two years, received 0 offers. I'm not sure what more I could have done. If I were to try again next year, what can I do to improve my chances? Especially for the admitted students, how do you think I could improve my profile? Do you think I should travel to the schools and bug the profs about their research?

If I don't apply to physics again, what other options do people commonly explore? Anyone with a similar experience?

Thanks!

Edited by pjoseg

With that resume I'm honestly shocked that you were not extended any offers.

There's clearly something else at play. If you didn't do this the last two times, you should ask some trusted professors to look over some of your application materials. Maybe there are some red flags that they would more easily be able to identify and help you deal with. One of my advisers ripped apart the first draft of my statement of purpose, which was probably really important in the long run.