Which program to accept? MA vs PhD in clinical psych

Tenohharuka

Hi guys,

I did not really know where else to ask this question... So I am writing this post!

So..

I got accepted to a Phd program in clinical psychology with partial assistantship and to a MA program in counseling psychology without any funding.

I was about 99.99% sure that I would choose phd, but one comment my parents mentioned during our conversation is really bothering me.

The school that is offering MA is more renowned and reputable internationally. (I should mention that I am an international student...)

And what they are saying is, MA from that school might open up more opportunities (by that they mean more reputable schools) for me when I apply for phd after getting my MA.

I know ultimately I am gonna follow my heart but i just wanted to see other students' opinions.

Any thoughts?

First, a master's degree without funding is pointless, in my opinion. Always go where there's funding! 

Second, a master's in counseling can lead to a different path than a PhD in clinical psychology, although the two are more similar than ever before. 

Read about the differences and similarities: 

http://www.csun.edu/~hcpsy002/Clinical%20Versus%20Counseling%20Psychology.pdf

http://www.div17.org/about/what-is-counseling-psychology/counseling-vs-clinical/

Third: just because a school is reputable doesn't mean that the counseling degree you'll be seeking will necessarily be better than other school's programs. Look for a research fit.

Honestly, neither of these sound like ideal programs.