Deposits at two schools?

tee-rex

Hi Grad Cafers,

I have an ethical question about putting deposits down at more than one school. My partner will likely not hear back from some schools that she's applying to until early-mid summer. Consequently, I'm put in a tough position because my decision dates are in mid-April for the most part. Is it unethical to put deposits down at two schools? These are both schools that I've received significant funding from, which I realize will impact others who have been admitted. I'm trying to do what's best for my girlfriend and I, while also doing what's right.

Thoughts? 

Thanks for the feedback guys. I've noticed that some schools include in their response forms a sentence about how you agree not to put a deposit down at another institution. Does anyone think it's a bad idea? 

NO - DO NOT DO THIS!!!! Trust me on this. I am a former admission officer at a Top 5 university. Programs actually do spot checks where they compare lists of enrollees, and if anyone is double deposited, they will rescind admission to both programs because it's considered an honor code violation. Just get in touch with the people to request an extension due to mitigating circumstances. It's really not worth it to have your offers taken away and your name on a blacklist at those universities. This really does happen, more times than you realize, and it's just awful. DO NOT DO IT. 

Thanks for the feedback guys. I've noticed that some schools include in their response forms a sentence about how you agree not to put a deposit down at another institution. Does anyone think it's a bad idea?