Adjuncting First Semester of PhDa

mockingjay634

I was wondering if it would be very unwise to adjunct two sections of the same course (Intro to Comparative Politics or Intro to International Relations, those are also my examination fields) during my first semester of a PhD program.

I have some teaching experience, I was a section TA where I graded papers, led discussions based off of lecturers.

My mentor says it's a bad idea as it's a lot different being a lecturer than a TA. I do understand this as I need to develop a syllabus as well as lectures. I'm currently not enrolled in school so I am doing this now while I still have the free time.

I was awarded a fellowship so I don't have any work requirements so my rationale is, it's a way to allot some time during my days, earn some extra cash (I don't want to take out loans to supplement my stipend), and knock out my teaching experience. My fellowship doesn't allow me to work as a TA until my last two years of five years and my plan is to already be out in the field and getting a dissertation fellowship at that time. Prior to this, I won't get the chance to TA with my department (because I'm already externally funded). To clarify, this job would be at the local CC.

Any insight?

Just my two cents but bad idea. First, your advisor said so and this early in your PhD that relationship is important.  Second, they say 3-4 hours prep for each hour of new lecture, so I'd expect 2-3 full days each week prepping, lecturing, etc. That's going to hurt your research a lot.  Third, if your fellowship doesn't allow TA work it might not allow this either. Usually the point of external funding is that you don't have to teach.