A question about housing and rent

reinhard

Okay so this is my first time living off campus. I am a Canadian and I am moving to Ontario next month, so if you live there, maybe you could help.

I am wondering over there, do landlords usually accept cheques or cash? Am I right to assume they will accept cheques from any Canadian Bank (TD, Scotia bank, etc...).

I don't want to ask any landlords I am going to contact with these questions as I feel they might rip me off.

I am planning to not even go to motel once I arrive and go straight into the home. Is this risky just based off pictures and conversation?

Also, am I correct that in addition to advertised rent, I must pay a damage deposit? We do that in BC, Canada. Does the same apply in Ontario?

Edited by reinhard

I'm from Ontario and I rent.

Don't pay cash, send them a cheque. If they want cash that's a red flag because they won't give you the keys until the cheque clears anyway. Also, ask them if it's possible for a friend to visit on your behalf to view the unit and take pictures. Even if you don't have anybody who can do this, it might scare off any scammers. Even better would be to ask your new department if there's anybody nice who would do this for you.

Ontario's rental laws can be much different than other provinces so you probably want to check out the government site on the rules. For example, Ontario landlords aren't allowed to collect damage deposits but they usually collect first and last month's rent.