Is It Normal To Be Second Guessing Program Selection Before Even Enrolling?

Chops13

Hello everyone,

I graduated from undergrad a week ago, and I am now back at home preparing to begin my program this fall. I was blessed to have been offered a spot for 4 year M.A/Ph.D program with full funding, but it was not my top choice for pretty petty reasons (I am accustom to living in Florida and the program is in a landlocked part of the Midwest). When I flew out to visit, I enjoyed it, loved the students, and I felt the POI was my best personality fit of any school (perhaps not the best research fit though). However, I also noticed the town was much less affluent and smaller than what I am used to. I thought it over, ended up committing to this program as a  "professional" decision (buckle down and crank out the degree then move ASAP) and notified the other programs of my decision before the deadline.

Lately, I have been second guessing the choice. Part of me wishes I would have applied to a few more places or changed some things in my process. I know that what I am feeling is irrational, because it is not based on any of my experiences with this program, more my fear of the unknown but it just keeps coming back to me.

Is this feeling normal at this stage in the process? Has anyone else experienced these feelings before even enrolling? 

Edited by Chops13