Advice for pursuing Biostatistics PhD

I specifically signed up for GradCafe to ask this question lol.

So my background is a BS in Biomedical Engineering, and an MS in Biomedical Engineering with a focus in Biomedical Imaging. During my MS, I took a course in probability, statistics, and stochastic processes, and was absolutely smitten by the subject. My interest was further piqued after taking a class in computer vision and computer networks and realizing the huge breadth of application statistics has in general (it is obvious that I had never taken a formal course in statistics beforehand).

I have realized engineering research is something I would not like to pursue in the future. My original plan was to go to medical school, however obviously that has not worked out for me. To stay close to the clinical field, I would like to pursue Biostatistics, but I do not know if my background is sufficient for doing so. 

I underperformed during my undergraduate studies in a top tier engineering school due to an enormous lack of motivation and drive(barely graduated with a 3.0); however my graduate studies (at a renowned university for the social sciences...but mediocre for engineering), went extremely well (3.6 GPA). All the math courses I have taken I scored a B+ or better. I have had over two years of experience in clinical research and have been published in two papers. I also have a year of biopharmaceuticals industry experience. 

I was wondering if this would suffice to apply to a well ranked biostatistics program? I am extremely interested in the field, and I know I would be willing to devote my life to this subject. I am just on edge about how I will be able to convince programs to accept me due to my lack of formal mathematics training. Any advice on the field, how to pursue it, etc would be very appreciated. Thank you.