Is this normal?

My advisor and I recently submitted a paper to be considered for publication in a journal; the VERY next day, we got a rejection. However, there were was no feedback from the reviewers or editor as to why; just a one line general statement from the editor saying they must be selective due to the number of submissions they receive. I am not very experienced when it comes to publishing, but is this acceptable? I'm not complaining that it was rejected, but I was a bit taken aback by the nonexistent feedback. I haven't had a chance to talk to my professor yet, so I just wanted to get some opinions in the meantime. Thank you in advance!

That does seem weird. Unless it was a very small/unknown journal, I find it odd that you get a response the very next day. In my experience in cog psych/cog neuro, it's at least a few weeks before you get any feedback. But this may depend on the field and journal. 

Maybe you didn't submit it "properly" or forgot something which gave you an auto-reject? If I were you/your advisor I would email the editor directly and inquire. At the very least you should receive *some* feedback.

Edited by Gvh

The fastest rejection we ever got was 3 days and it was a direct rejection from the editor. Our manuscript didn't make it to the referees even. In our case, it was a high impact journal and the rejection came with a good reason (i.e. something to do with not being the type of science they publish). We resubmitted somewhere else and it was fine.