Need advice on LOR for international students!

Hi! I'm planning to apply for a PhD in Philosophy this year and I'm Latin American, so I really need advice about letters of recommendation! In my country writing such letters is not at all common, and even when they are required, they are super short and quite formal. I heard the type of letter graduate schools ask for is not only about academic stuff but also about you being a committed and nice person. Is that so? What do I need to tell my professors when I ask for their letters? What kind of 'instructions' should I give them? How am I supposed to be presented if my professors are unknowns to the graduate committee? What is considered a good letter, besides the fact that they should say good things about you?

Well, any piece of advice will be welcome!

Thank you very much in advance!

Depending on your cultural context, this may or may not work in your country. But in the country where I work as an admissions consultant (in East Asia), we usually have the students make a "packet" of relevant info for their professors. This includes a description of the schools and programs that the student is applying to, as well as an explanation of what kind of information the letter of recommendation should contain. The student also types up a "press release" of sorts, which describes his/her main accomplishments and qualities that should be highlighted in the letter. Depending on how comfortable the student feels about this, we also give "sample" LORs for professors to look at. We have our own in-house samples, but feel free to use Google to find examples of good LORs to give to your professors. For example, https://www.press.umich.edu/pdf/9780472031887-appendixg.pdf.

If there is a language barrier, you could also have the professor write in your native language and get it certified/translated. But this would also cost you money and time! 

Hope this helps! Good luck!