Professor vs researcher

reinhard

17 members have voted

1. 1. What would you rather be called?

• A researcher at the university
    • A professor (unspecificed status, e.g. associate, adjunt, etc...) at the university

What do Ph.D holders who work in the academia call themselves? A research or a professor? One does the other, but when someone say "I am a prof", people immediately ignore the whole research aspect (at least the people I've talked with) and thinks you only teach at the university. This is of course not true. In the future, I am going to be put in the same position and I rather refer myself as "a researcher" rather than a "professor" because "prof" gives the people the idea that I am old...

The same is true when I used to TA in my undergrad. I was in second year and people thought I was a grad student in my 30s...somewhat insulting considering outside of school, everyone thought I was still in high school.

It would seem that certain titles adds numbers to your age.

Edited by reinhard

(This is what I think when I hear these terms--actual definitions vary by university / job descriptions / contracts!)

In the context of a university job, I think that a "researcher" is someone who works on research mainly (or only) in a non-tenure track position. Often, these positions might be "term positions" (i.e. contract for X years) or basically dependent on their employer choosing to / being able to continue their employment (i.e. like almost any other job). A researcher may occasionally teach a course in their field of expertise. A researcher does not often serve on departmental committees and does not participate in decisions like hiring, curriculum changes, or grad student admission, etc.