Chances Please - Stats Phd

Hi everyone, 

I'm hoping I can get some feedback/realistic expectations for my graduate school application. I am planning to apply to a statistics phd program. Sry if I am a little vague since I can't give too many identifying details. 

I am a recent graduate from an ivy league school (does my undergrad institution make a difference?)

major: math, gpa: 3.98

relevant classes: lots of math (standard analysis,algebra,topology stuff), some basic statistics (undergrad stat theory, programming-in-R type classes)

honors: awards for good grades

gre (took it before i graduated): 168v, 170q, 5.5 writing 

math subject gre: 850

putnam (dunno if this matters): got a decent score one year (~top 100)

i'm genuinely interested in stats, I've started to spend a lot of time learning stuff on my own. As I read on Tibshirani's homepage, "in statistics I found a subject that combined the beauty of both math and computer science, using them to solve real-world problems." That's why I want to apply. 

However my biggest worry is weak letters of recommendation (have not asked for them yet). I'm on great terms with a humanities professor (history) but I feel like that may be of limited relevance to stats. I think I might have a decent one from a math professor.

As for the 3rd rec I have no idea who to ask, since I do not know many profs on a personal basis. Unfortunately I skipped way too many classes as an undergrad and never went to office hours, a big and immature mistake in hindsight.

No research experience either.

I really appreciate the time and input from anyone reading this, I think it could help me better evaluate my options. 

You have a near perfect GPA as a math major from an ivy league school and an awesome GRE score for both the subject and general tests. I would say this alone would make you a strong candidate pretty much anywhere. Given your grades in math classes, why would you not have strong letters from your math professors?