New Job to start taking classes in Geophysics in Houston, Denver, OKC, or Corvallis

Hanyuye

Hi all,

As the summer goes by, I keep thinking of how my life would be a million times better out of New York and enrolled in a geophysics program but fortune as evaded me yet again. Currently, I'm a software analyst for a software company that is used nationwide.

I have the ability to apply for a job in Houston and take undergrade/graduate courses at University of Houston or Rice in geophysics/petroleum related

Or take a job in Denver and apply for UC at Denver or Boulder at take related courses.

Or San Diego and Corvallis, Oregon and so the same.

I'm asking because Houston is the center of the energy sector and I thought it was by default to move there. My job is no way related to the energy sector and I've been applying for entry level positions for months now with even ones that only ask for Math majors but no luck there.

You guys have any suggestions? I'd greatly appreciate it

I have a friend who is stuck in the software sector with a BS in Land Use Planning...so you're not alone.  If you want (and can afford) to take a job in the field you want, do it!  The Southwest has a lot of energy sector jobs.  You'll find geology is big in Texas, Arizona, Colorado, and New Mexico. 

Or maybe I misunderstood and you are actually looking to transfer within the company you're currently in?  Either way, if it's available and out west is where you want to be, definitely do it. 

Here are some internships opportunities as well that may help your university of work applications in the future:

http://www.geosociety.org/links/intrnshp.htm

Oregon State has a good reputation and Corvallis is a great place to live.  Having lived in both Galveston and Corvallis, I would pick Corvallis over Houston.  The friends I knew when I was there in the engineering programs were very pleased with the placement rates OSU had as well.

Good luck!