Lab Size

bsharpe269

I am a MS student and am currently applying for PhD programs by the Dec deadlines. So far, I have always been part of small research groups. I have really enjoyed the small group environment that gives the opportunity for individual attention from the PI. I do not want a super hands on PI and like being able to pursue my own ideas but I do want someone who is willing to set up individual meetings occasionally or do weekly group meetings or something to give feedback on my ideas and progress.

While looking at possible PhD labs, the lab size issue has been in my mind. I have relatively specific research interests and am of course interested in working with the 'big name' professors in my subfield. My subfield is incredibly political. I know that this is probably true across all of academia but my PI makes it sound like the subfield I want to enter is even more political than most and has gone as far as saying that unless I work for the top 5-10 big names, the chance of being accepted into the community is really low later. These big name professors get tons of funding though and have very large groups. This dynamic makes me a bit nervous. Like many science people, Im not a hugely outgoing person. I have really liked working in small research groups so far and dont want to work with a PI who has no time for me since he has so many students.

Has anyone transitioned from a small MS (or undergrad) lab to large lab for PhD? How was it and can you offer any advice? Is it worth moving to a big lab given the political nature of my (or all?) research area. Any comments on this are appreciated!