New to Sociology - What do I do?

apollostarfall

I'm an undergraduate student majoring in neuroscience with a minor in economics and a lot of computational/statistical courses. But lately, I've become very interested in sociology, particularly in social movements. I can graduate this May with my neuroscience bachelor's.

I'd really like to get a PhD in sociology but fear I don't have the undergraduate background for it. Should I do a Master's first? If so, where? What are the top PhD programs in the study of social movements? I also notice that most PhD programs require a 15-30 page writing sample. Unfortunately, I've never written anything of that length. But I could. Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks :)

Edited by apollostarfall

I'm looking into sociology programs myself after a long hiatus and in a completely different field--I have a BFA and MFA in photography and graduated in 2001. From what I can tell the nice thing about sociology programs is that they don't seem to mind if you don't have a sociology background, in fact they seem to welcome diversity as far as undergraduate areas of study. I'd say neuroscience would be a great asset and would make you a strong candidate.

I'm only applying in the New York area and NYU, Columbia, CUNY and Rutgers all seem fine with no sociology training for their PhD departments. None of them offer terminal Masters unless you apply to Columbia's accelerated 1 year program or NYU has a Masters in Applied Quantitative Research (not my area of expertise). Also, all of the applications only require 5-10 page writing samples (thank goodness!) except for Columbia, but I wonder if they wouldn't let you submit a few different papers that added up to that length, I'm going to be looking into that.