Undergrad Percentage (from India) to US 4.0 GPA conversion - Ridiculous!

Hello,

I am applying for Fall, 2015 in PhD programs (Computer science). 

The admissions page of many universities I saw, demand an undergrad GPA of at least 3.0 and graduate GPA of at least 3.5

Now, I excelled in the two masters degrees I have (MBA, MS).

But I was an average student in undergrad. Average in India means that I scored around 68% in my undergrad years (I.T.)

If you ask me, I think this conversion thing is crazy. Many colleges in India grade/score very stringently, since the min. percentage required to graduate is 50%. So, if I were an average student at an elite college in India, my CGPA/ Percentage would be 7.0 or 70%. Using this conversion table, my GPA on a 4 point scale would be 2.3. :o  :o  :o   

In the US, however, you need a min. GPA of 2.75 to graduate. A GPA below 3 is considered to be a shocker, while a GPA between 3 and 3.5 would be considered below average. It'll never work; it's like comparing Apples with Oranges.

Am I missing something here? Any thoughts?    :unsure:  :unsure:

It'll never work; it's like comparing Apples with Oranges.

Of course, it doesn't work that way. Have you tried Googling this?

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=converting+Indian+CGPA+to+American+GPA

A short answer is: Do not attempt a direct conversion, because selection committees are well aware of the differences and will do it themselves.

I don't actually have any tips of converting GPAs, but I have to point out a couple mistakes in your "facts":

1) the minimum GPA to graduate is 2.0. If a 2.75 GPA were required to graduate, anything below a B would be considered a failing grade, and that's just bananas.