sneaking work hours in

rohinimohan

I'm a grad student and start this Fall in Columbia. It's been worrying me, the number of times the univ people tell me I'll have noooo time to work, even on-campus. The way they go on and on about it, they seem to think I'll flunk if I so much as venture towards a job! But I do need a job to pay a part of my tuition, since they weren't as responsive when I hounded them about funding (they love saying no, it seems). Hmph.

I know a lot of Asians/Indians (I'm one too) who hold down a job and kick ass at univ too. Hoping I'll be able to pull it off too.

They said I can work 5 hours a week at the library or something, but don't say how I go about that.

RA/TAs are out of question because my masters is only one year long. What to do? Is anyone going through the same thing?

You can certainly work if you allocate your time properly. And if you don't have a TA/RA, then you can definitely work. TA/RA's work 20 hours anyway, so you can spend the same number of hours working elsewhere.

People at Harvard say the same thing, but I worked 15+ hours every week through my MA, full-time over vacations including Thanksgiving and Christmas, and did very well in coursework. It is possible, though kind of sucky.

I'm going to Columbia too and I'll be working because of my family situation. For me, it's work and go to school, or work: school without work is simply not possible given my parents' situation. People would say it's impossible, but I've been doing it long enough to know that it is possible, and for me it's necessary. You make it work if you have to.

If you have teaching ability, get a job in Manhattan tutoring: $35 an hour and up, way up. Columbia enrollment will help with that.

Minnesotan makes an excellent point. I find that such jobs can often end up making me more productive than I would be with no job because they help me structure my time and force me to sit still long enough to read and study.