Therapist for children... How do I do it?

domoharv

I have a bachelor's degree in Sociology from Rutgers University. I don't have the greatest GPA, and I'm a horrible test taker (took the GRE years ago... it was horrible)

BUT, I have amazing work experience from the past 7 years; working with autistic kids, counselor at a group home,  AmeriCorps, volunteer work, and more recently worked for a child protective service agency for almost 4 years where I worked directly with children and families-- I have done a lot :)

So, basically... I don't know what to do from here.... I know I love working with families/kids who have been through trauma, etc... I am good at it. I just don't know how to go about it.

Should I just go get my MSW? MFT? or MA in Clinical Psychology? 

People (professionals) that I have worked with all tell me "There needs to be more people like you in this world..."-- which is so nice, and I am grateful. But, I know to do more I need that advanced degree.

So, all that being said...

I don't want to have to take my GRE's again
I hope my work experience and ability to get amazing recommendations from great professionals will have a grad program look past my poor GPA. 

I am extremely passionate about the work I want to do.

Any advice? 

Grad schools? Which ones do I have a chance getting into?

Thanks in advance!... any advice would be helpful :)

• 1 month later...

You'd probably be okay getting a Masters in Counseling (specialize in play therapy or similar). Many grad programs in counseling are amenable to the MAT instead of the GRE, so that might be an option. There's really no way around a test of some kind, though, unless you'd be okay with a post-grad certificate as opposed to a full-fledged degree.

• 3 weeks later...